National Commission on the Status of Women

Government of Pakistan

Home / Highlights / From the Inter Ministerial Parliamentary Group

From the Inter Ministerial Parliamentary Group

From the Inter-Provincial Ministerial Group (IPMG) Secretariat

IPMG Meeting held on 26th November in Azad Kashmir

The IPMG members meet once in a quarter. The latest IPMG meeting was held on 26th November, 2015 hosted by the State Commission for Azad Jammu and Kashmir, Pakistan.

This meeting was held during the 16 Days of Activism and On behalf of the Inter-Provincial Ministerial Group on Women’s Empowerment, Honorable Ms. Khawar Mumtaz, Chairperson of the National Commission on the Status of Women said: “Every year the 16 Days of Activism campaign gives us a platform from where we can share achievements and re-new commitments to end discrimination against women and girls. We need to acknowledge those persons and more so the men and boys, parliamentarians and active citizens, who support women and girls by opening doors of opportunity to them and encourage them in their accomplishments.”


The Inter Provincial Ministers’ Group (IPMG) on Women Development was established in April 2009. It is an exclusive group of leadership working for empowerment of women. IPMG is the only inter-provincial coordination forum, having potential and effectiveness in supporting the women empowerment and gender equality in line with country’s national and international commitments.

The National Commission on the Status of Women (NCSW) has hosted the Inter-Provincial Ministerial Group (IPMG) Secretariat since 2009.

The IPMG was set up following the 18th amendment and the subsequent devolution of Women’s Development Ministry to the provinces, there was a stronger need to support the provincial governments; specifically provincial women machineries to set strategic priorities and plans for women’s empowerment and gender equality (GE) while holding onto the previous initiatives and guiding principles given in the 2002 National Policy for Development and Empowerment of Women (NPDEW), the National Plan of Action (NPA) and the Gender Reform Action Plan (GRAP).

IPMG Members includes Ministers of Women Development Departments (WDDs) from all four provinces and Pakistan Administered Kashmir (PAK) and Gilgit-Baltistan (GB), the respective Secretaries of Women Development Departments, Ministry Law, Justice and Human Rights (MLJ&HR) and the Chairpersons of the national and provincial Commissions on the Status of women.

Scope of IPMG Meetings

  • Share experiences and peer learning
  • Develop strategies for implementing government’s gender agenda in the light of Pakistan’s national and international commitments, particularly CEDAW
  • Initiate process of establishing independent WDDs and strengthen them to assume a stronger role towards ensuring women empowerment and to enable gender equality within their respective provinces
  • Undertake joint leadership capacity building measures and trainings for advising and implementing national and international commitments;

IPMG Joint Resolutions

At the end of each IPMG Meeting a score of  joint resolutions based on the priority areas of gender equality and women empowerment are identified and passed. The resolutions are then shared with the participants for feedback and approval. Later signed, these become the action plan for the next quarter. The developments on these joint resolutions are coordinated/followed up by NCSW while keeping a constant liaison with all provinces and federating units.

Copyright © 2009.All rights reserved with NCSW Terms of Use l Privacy Policy